Social Media Class Reflection

Well, this is the last week of posting a blog for my social media class. However, not my last blog post. I still plan on using this resource for a long time. I have had a great experience learning how to write this blog and really enjoyed the skills it has taught me as a writer. This social media class has been all I could hope for it to be. It has been very busy and I’ve had many tasks to keep up with that might not always have been the easiest but it has definitely given me the type of knowledge that one seeks when striving for a college degree. I have learned so much about the power and effect that social media has on our everyday lives and especially in today’s work force.

One of the best parts about this class was that it wasn’t traditional lecture where one would take notes, read a chapter, and take a test. Instead we were given weekly assignments expressive writing assignments, twitter goals, group and individual projects that really helped develop us as social media professionals. The power point presentations we did have were very insightful and helpful when it came to our group campaign proposals or our other assignments.

I would say my favorite part about this class was getting to listen to such a wide variety of some of the social media and marketing professionals there is to offer. It was great getting to pick their brains and listen to their experiences and everyday duties. It was a great joy to get to listen to Chris Kerns, Melissa Agnes, and Mark Murdock along with all the other professionals who took the time out of their day to speak with us about what they do and why they have seen success. It’s always beneficial to hear advice from someone who has been where you are now and has experienced all the things that you are experienced and has been successful.

It has been a busy yet great experience working on the social media campaign proposal for Gathan and The Louisville Travel Bureau. We were assigned to come up with a plan to target people who are millennials to come visit Louisville. It’s been awesome working with a team and bouncing ideas off each other to cme up with the best plan possible. It will definitely give me valuable experience for the future.

Overall, this semester has been one busy and great ride and I won’t forget it. I have developed and improved so many skills that will allow me to be successful. Of course, this semester wouldn’t have been the same without the incredible Dr. Freberg leading the way. She has been helping us with every step and was always there for us when we needed something. We can really tell she cares and wants us to succeed. Once again, this was a great semester and I am looking forward to finishing strong these last few weeks

Leave a comment